Yorgo Lanthimos is the second shared recipient of the CIFCC’s Trailblazer Award


On Wednesday, January 4th on WGN Radio’s “The Nick Digilio Show,” CIFCC co-director Don Shanahan announced the winners of the Trailblazer and Impact Awards for the first annual CIFCC Awards.

In a tie, Yorgos Lanthimos, the director and co-writer behind The Lobster extraordinaire, has been named a shared winner of Trailblazer Award.  The awards honors the work of an artist who truly pushed the boundaries of the medium in terms of form and content. We have a voting body of 28 critics in the greater Chicago area who are committed to promoting not only excellence in film but also independence and diversity.

Some of the rational statements on Lanthimos from our voting critics:

“Crazy premise given free reign to matriculate as it sees fit.”

“Packed with ideas the likes of which I’ve rarely seen”

“A wonderfully absurdist film”

We will hold an informal reception on the evening of Sunday, January 8th at 7pm at which the winners will be officially announced.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s